Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is how every day off from work should start:

Brunch at 11:30 am with Chocolate Cappuccino Coffee, fried egg & irish rasher on a toasted whole wheat english muffin with a side of cantaloupe. The biggest surprise of the entire morning was actually convincing the lad to have some fruit with his meat sandwich. AMAZING!

And now I’m just going right into an all-out rant about my love/hate relationship with technology. I hate computers, cameras, TVs, phones, DVD players, alarm clocks, the oven timer, the ice machine, and that light on my microwave that for some odd reason only goes off when you press it twice. All of these gadgets have a mind of their own. I wasted a full hour of my gloriously relaxing day off to type up a GREAT post about some awesome snacks I whipped up this weekend. And thenĀ  the computer beast went and gobbled it all up and left me with a blank slate.

ME + MY COMPUTER = IN A BIG FIGHT.

So what did I do? I helped Richie (I don’t know why I ever did #3 on this blogger bad habit list!) make lasagna, read Chelsea Handler’s book to calm me down and enjoyed an apple with homemade mixed nut butter:

Mixed Nut Butter

  • 1/2 cup mixed nuts, roasted
  • 1 TB honey
  • 1 tsp peanut oil
Trader Joes Fancy Mixed Nuts for Fancy Nut Butter

Roast the nuts in the oven at 350 for about 10 – 12 minutes, stirring every few minutes so the nuts don’t burn. I got distracted and didn’t do this so resorted to eating throwing away a few burnt nuts here and there.

Blend the roasted nuts in a blender or food processor by blending, scraping down the sides, blending again, scraping again and continuing this for about 15 minutes. Add in the honey and peanut oil and continue to blend, scrape, blend, scrape. BE PATIENT! It will eventually turn from a crumbly mixture to a creamier texture, keep scraping down the sides of the blender until it forms into a creamy butter. Voila! Homemade nut butter complete!

NUTS!
the peanut oil is the KEY to a smooth nut butter
Homemade Mixed Nut Butter

You can store it in the fridge in a Tupperware container, just stir before eating it because the oil will separate a little, like any other natural nut butter. All of the mixed nuts make it very nutty tasting so if you prefer that strong, natural taste of peanut butter then you’ll certainly enjoy this. Let me know what you think!

Now I’m off to enjoy one of these

to enjoy with our brisket and baked beans – recipe to come this week!

Do you make your own nut butter? If so, what’s your favorite type?

