Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy Saturday everyone! This week was busy, as usual, but with good busy things, as in WEDDING planning things! Thursday night I met up with my Mom at our hair salon and decided on my hair for the wedding. It looked amazing and I absolutely loved it, thanks to my maid-of-honor for finding the style :) We then went straight to the bridal salon to find a veil. I have to say, whenever I try on my wedding dress, I am instantly happy. But this was the first time I could truly picture how I’d look walking down the aisle to meet my best friend, with my dress, hair, and veil all in place. It was an amazing night and I was glad to share it with mi madre! Almost 5 months left to go, ahh!! Today, my maid of honor and one of my bridesmaids are venturing out to Bijou Bridal to hopefully finalize the dresses.

I did get to work in the kitchen one very chilly night this week to try out this recipe I saw in my mom’s O magazine: Salmon and Creamed Corn Chowder

Richie is allergic to most fish so I decided to not kill him and make the recipe with shrimp. It was easy, healthy, and yummy –> perfect combination, WIN.

Shrimp and Corn Chowder (adapted from O Magazine)

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1½ tsp. salt, divided, plus more to taste
  • ½ tsp. ground black pepper, divided, plus more to taste
  • About 12 – 15 jumbo frozen shrimp, (raw, peeled, and deveined)
  • 1 (15 oz) can low-sodium, fat-free chicken broth
  • 2 (14.75-ounce) cans cream-style sweet corn
  • 1 large russet potato, peeled and cut in ½ cubes
  •  ¼ tsp cayenne

Total time: 45 minutes

Thaw shrimp under cold running water for about 5 – 10 minutes, remove tails. Cook shrimp in a large skillet over medium heat, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and about ¼ tsp paprika. Cook for 5 minutes then flip and cook for additional 5 minutes. Set aside in covered bowl.

In a large Dutch oven or heavy pot add onion, bell pepper, ½ tsp. salt, and ¼ tsp. pepper to pot and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 10 minutes. Lower heat to allow veggies to simmer.

Peel and chop the potato. Add to the pot of veggies the chicken broth, both cans of corn, potato, and cayenne, 1 tsp. salt, and ¼ tsp. pepper. Bring to a boil, scraping up any browned bits. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, uncovered, until potato is tender, 20 minutes. Turn heat to low and add shrimp to soup. Remove from heat and serve, sprinkle with shredded cheese or top with Parmesan.

This meal was great on a cold winter night, with a fresh baguette and side salad. It definitely does not serve 4 so if you want enough for leftover, I’d recommend doubling the recipe.

What are your plans for the weekend? Is it snowing by you?

