Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

What a great weekend! It started off great (once another crazy day of work was over) and its wrapping up quite great! A relaxing Friday night on the couch with some snacks

…some leftover pizza from Damario’s in Rutherford, this place knows how to do pizza: white base with eggplant, roasted tomatoes, and ricotta cheese.

Yes, I know. We are wild. We are crazy. We live life on the edge. So we don’t party it up til 3 AM on friday nights, but we’re happy hanging out together with some good food and a movie so that’s that!

Saturday was FULL of wedding planning. I finalized the bridesmaid’s dresses with one of my bridesmaids and sent in the order. We started AND finalized our wedding invitations at The Write Occasion in Wyckoff. Our sales assistant, Diane, was super helpful and really knowledgeable in what to write, what not to write, how different styles look, etc. It was fun, but LOTS of decisions. I was really thankful my mom was there with us or else we might have been a little lost. We then moved on to start and finalize our wedding flowers, which was another few hours of lots of decisions. I came prepared with some picture of bouquets I saw on theknot.com but totally forgot about the whole centerpiece and ceremony part. Needless to say, we picked out a ton of great flower combinations and I think our June wedding is going to be gorgeous!

Last week I tried out a new recipe from the Crock Pot cook book: chicken tortilla soup. It was the perfect meal on Thursday night because it was cold and rainy outside. The best part – I came home from work and dinner was done already! I threw it all in the crock-pot before I left for work and let it simmer away all day.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • 1 package of skinless, boneless chicken thighs
  • 2 (15 oz) cans low-sodium, fat free chicken broth
  • 2 (15 oz) cans of diced tomatoes with jalapenos
  • 2 cups chopped carrots
  • 1 (15 oz) can of corn
  • 1 (8 oz) can of tomato sauce
  • ½ onion, chopped
  • 2 TB chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • Sprinkle of cayenne
  • Shredded cheese to top the soup

To prepare the night before: chop the carrots and onions, seal in plastic bag in the fridge.

Morning: Place chicken in the crock-pot. Combine all ingredients in the slow cooker. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours. It will switch to warm if you’re still at work (like I was, much to my dismay!). Serve with a sprinkle of shredded cheese. We had some leftover homemade sweet potato fries, which was a good side dish, and some salad on the side to get our greens on!

I hope everyone had a relaxing weekend and are having a lazy Sunday like me!

Do you make soup in your crock-pot? Any good recipes to share?

