Tags

, , , , , , , ,

  How many of you could eat pizza at least 3x a week? Maybe every night? In college, I couldn’t wait to get home for a hearty mom-made meal. I went through a phase when I first graduated where I thought pizza was horrible for you. The pools of grease, the melted cheese, the toppings (oh the toppings!!), all pretty much made me want to avoid it at all costs.

BUT my mom taught me that pizza, especially homemade, can be extremely healthy. And now I make it once a week! I’m still learning how to conquer my own dough but here’s a quick and easy recipe for veggie pizza. Have some for dinner, bring a slice in for lunch, keep leftovers in the freezer, or polish off the whole thing like me and the lad did!

Veggie & Ricotta Pizza

1 refrigerated dough crust (Pillsbury or fresh dough from bakery section)

1 package of slice mushrooms (cremini or baby portabella)

1 cup sliced (1/4 inch thick) zucchini

¼ tsp pepper

1 medium red onion, thickly sliced

5 ½ teaspoons olive oil, divided

1/3 cup tomato sauce

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 cup shredded cheese (I used a mozzarella/provolone combo)

1 string cheese, pulled or thinly sliced

½ cup part skim ricotta cheese

½ tsp chili powder

  1. Preheat oven to 500°F.
  2. Slice zucchini and onion, combine all veggies in a bowl and toss with 1 ½ TB olive oil and the pepper.  Spray a baking sheet with Pam and bake at 500 for 15 mins, stirring once.  You can do this step first and just throw some tin foil over the veggies if you need to do other stuff (workout, make lunch, clean, powernap) before making the pizza.
  3. Preheat oven to 425°F. (Follow oven instructions for whatever type of dough you are using) Spread dough on a greased baking sheet or pizza pan using 1 TB oil and 1 tsp garlic powder. Prebake crust for about 7-8 mins.
  4. Spread sauce, ½ the cheese, veggies, remaining shredded cheese, dollops of ricotta across the pizza then sprinkle with the chili powder. Bake at 425 for 11 minutes.

I always cook while listening to music, which can often lead to me dancing and cooking simultaneously. I finished the veggies and decided not to make the pizza right away when Cowboy Casanova came on. My kitchen has a door that leads right onto a busy ‘Boken street, so my decision to make up my own dance to this song while making lunch was most likely seen by a few entertained passers-by. Go ahead and enjoy your kitchen, dance, sing, scream, and just HAVE FUN!

