Tags

, , , , , , , ,

creamy homemade almond butter 🙂

 Happy Sunday! Weekend is not over yet so make sure you keep enjoying it til 8:59 AM (or whatever time you have to be at work tomorrow). Anyway, I’ve seen a bunch of blogs with detials on how to make homemade nut butter so I decided to give it a try. I am pleased to say I will no long be dishing out $8-$10 for a jar of almond butter.

All you need is a blender or food processor (I used my Mom’s Kitchenaid blender), your choice of nuts and some honey. I’d suggest roasting the nuts first, that definitely helps to get the consistency going in the blender.

minimal ingredients!

Pre-heat the oven to 350. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray and spread the nuts evenly on the pan. I used about 2 cups of almonds and 1/4 cup cashews.  Roast them for about 15 mins, mixing them around every 5 mins or so to prevent burning. Transfer nuts to blender, do 1 cup at a time at first then add the rest of the nuts in.

keep scraping the sides down into the blender

Puree the nuts for at least 5 minutes then add in 1 Tablespoon of honey. Continue blending the mixture, scraping the sides of the blender down into the middle. Keep blending until the mixture started to get creamy then switch to a slower speed. Total is probably about 15 minutes of blending. Transfer to resealable container and enjoy with anything!

 
I know it’s a lot of detail but from what I’ve learned with cooking is the more details the better the food comes out!
 
Do you make your own nut butters? If so, which kind is your favorite? Any good tips for homemade?
