Tags

, , , , , , ,

yummy for the tummy

Black Bean and Quinoa Chili

This is a great and healthy recipe for those nights when you’re cooking straight from the cabinets! We got back from vacation and obviously there was no fresh produce or fresh anything at that matter to make dinner. But that didn’t stop me from a little research and decided some cans of corn and beans  could certainly turn into a filling and good for ya dinner. AND I brought the leftovers for lunch the next day AND froze another meal’s worth of chili.

And of course my chili is just NOT complete without some beer in it. As previously posted, cooking with beer and wine is my second favorite thing after baking (with a glass of wine)

1 cups rinsed and drained quinoa
2 cups water
1 large onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, chopped
One 15-oz. can black beans, drained
One 15-oz. can corn, drained

One 28-oz. can crushed tomatoes

1 ½ cups water

½ – ¼ cup tomato sauce, depending on how much broth you want
1 TB chili powder
1 TB dried parsley (2 Tbs. fresh)
1 TB dried oregano
2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup light beer (optional)

look at those colors...

Combine quinoa and water in saucepan, cover and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer. Cook until liquid is absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat a large, non-stick pan; add onion and garlic and sauté for about 7 minutes over medium heat. Stir in beans, crushed tomatoes, water, pasta sauce, and seasonings; cook about 25 minutes over low heat, stirring occasionally. Stir in beer and simmer for 10 minutes. Stir in quinoa; cook 5 minutes more.

Serve with crusty bread and top with shredded cheese!

To rewind back to the morning, day started right with a big mug of coffee and protein popper while I was getting ready

coffee overpowering that cookie dough ball

I decided today was going to be a peanut butter day. Peanut butter and banana on whole wheat toast for breakfast, apples and peanut butter for a snack, PB&J for lunch, trail mix with assorted peanuts, and…chili?? Yea so that didn’t quite fit in there but the roomie WILL NOT go near peanut butter so that eliminates me serving it for dinner. And I know some of you are reading this and are shocked that someone could not like peanut butter (5 years later I still don’t understand it…) but if you don’t grow up on it, I guess you just don’t like it. Odd, I know, but moving on…

I had one of those classic lunches today: Peanut butter and jelly on white bread..doesn’t get more 5th grade boxed lunch than that! The best part is, I enjoyed it with a juice box that said Trader Joe’s Kids on it. I ate the PB&J and drank my juice box with pride!

So enjoy the easy dinner, enjoy the peanut butter ideas, enjoy that your roomie eats peanut butter 🙂 and enjoy life!

Have any of you fellow peanut butter lovers ever eaten peanut butter or some type of nut butter at every meal and/or snack??

