Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

choc chip to batter ratio should not be balanced

Long time no post, right?! Well I whipped up some pretty awesome recipes recently so obviously I feel the need to share them with you! Of course, my weekend could not be complete without some baking. I decided to go for the classic: addictive chocolate chip cookies. My boyfriend eats three at a time so I gotta make sure I’m always stocked! I’m convinced the chewy inside crunchy outside is from melting the butter. If you have yet to try this little technique, please do!

butter batter!

add flour....

and whammy! yummy cookies...now the real test is how long they'll last??

Cookie are not the only magnificent things I’ve been whipping up in the kitchen. I made a pretty sweet shrimp stir-fry last week and I’m going to make it again tomorrow night. So I thought I’d post it ahead of time for anyone looking for a quick and easy Monday night meal. Yes, GASP, I’m not having salmon tomorrow. The guy at the fish counter was definitely taken aback when I strolled right past him. haha yea probably just my imagination, but I’m proud to be moving away from the typical Monday night dinner.

now that looks gourmet

Shrimp Stir-Fry

1 lb shrimp

3 cloves garlic (or teaspoon garlic powder)

1 teaspoon ginger

1 1/2 teaspoon chili powder (or crushed red pepper)

1 egg white

1 teaspoon flour

 

1/2 cup ketchup

1/2 cup vegetable stock (or broth, can also use chicken stock/broth)

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons pepper

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon flour

Mixed veggies

 

Thaw shrimp. Combine garlic, ginger, chili powder, egg white, and flour. Toss shrimp in mixture.

give the shrimp a good coating

Heat skillet, spray w/cooking spray. Stir fry vegetables (I use a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies) for about 5 minutes, add coated shrimp and raise heat to high. Cook for approximately 5 minutes.

cook it all up in a (overstuffed) skillet

Combine ketchup through flour and whisk until mixed. Add ketchup mixture to shrimp and simmer (low heat) for approximately 5 minutes or until shrimp are done. Serve with brown rice, quinoa, or grain of choice!

my b/f called it shrimp curry - either way it was yummy!

And once again, thanks to my Mom for the shrimp recipe and for teaching me how to make awesome chocolate chip cookies! I would not be half as good a cook if you hadn’t taught me the basics, so thanks Mom and happy early birthday!

Who taught you how to cook? Or did you learn everything on your own??

Has anyone else tried melting the butter for baking cookies?

