Tags

, , , , , , ,

It is a short week for me so technically tonight is Thursday and tomorrow is Friday and then Friday is VACATION!! and to be specific, it is vacation in Las Vegas…vegas vacation here I come! I’m secretly hoping I come back to the ‘Boken with a sick car like Chevy Chase followed by the rest of family in cars won via insane gambling. Considering I don’t really like to gamble, I doubt this will happen but hey a girl can dream.

The *shortened* week has been busy with PT appointments, cleaning, typical vacation prep stuff, and just pure tiredness. No matter how tired I am at the end of the day, I always get a little buzz after I’ve whipped something up in the kitchen. Even if it’s some protein poppers:

and now they're gone šŸ˜¦

Or if I’m really not in the mood to cook dinner at all, some classic spaghetti and meatballs a la Chez Trader Joe’s:

TJ's turkey meatballs and green beans

Nothing is better than sitting down with a big bowl (plate for the space-conscious apartment dwellers) of pasta with meatballs. How could anyone ever skip the lovely meal of dinner?? It used to be my least favorite meal but now I’d definitely say it’s the one I look forward to the most. Even on a regular Monday night, dinner is a time to chat about the day, upcoming plans, or just simply enjoy the meal with a loved one. Dinner is an event. Dinner on vacation with my family is an even bigger event. It is preceded by cocktails and cheese and crackers and we talk about how *awesome* the meal is each night. I love it. I live for it. Dinner is simply FUN!

freezer to plate in 20 mins..how easy is that?!?

My rant on dinner being the greatest meal (for me at least) is partly due to a co-workers (overly obsessive) workout and eating schedule. He went on a long tirade this afternoon about his dinner every night. A protein shake. Yes, ladies and gents, he drinks his dinner. Now that…is…..just….WRONG! I know we’re supposed to listen to our bodies and eat what we want when we want but I’m a classic kind of chef and dinner should involve more than just a straw. Utensils are not always necessary, tacos/fajitas/sandwiches/no clean forks, but a straw and cup of protein is not dinner. Soooo I’m here to say that whipping up some spaghetti and turkey meatballs is JUST as easy, if not easier, than a protein shake. Test it out and let me know if this proves otherwise!

Or if you’re still not in the mood to cook, don’t resort to the blender, resort to your local Asian place:

General Chow's and lotsa sushi!

i approve chopsticks as a dinner utensil šŸ™‚

I’ll probably be MIA while livin’ it up in Vegas so Happy 4th! and Happy eating!

But before I peace out, let me know: Do you agree or disagree with a smoothie or protein as dinner as completely unacceptable?? …I DO! Dinner should be eaten not drank…drunk?…tomato, tomahhhto.

