Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well hellooooooo there! Yes I’ve been MIA lately, but mostly because I’ve been cooking up a storm in the kitchen lately so I’ve got some great recipes to share over the next few days. It’s almost 8 pm after a long day at work and my grilled farmer’s market veggie sandwiches are not making themselves….so I’ll just give a quick preview of what’s to come!

i will never get sick of granola and fresh fruit šŸ™‚

My eats during the day are pretty standard: yogurt and granola, turkey sandwiches, salads with dinner leftovers, Luna bars, Pure bars, trail mix, apples (is it me or do they just make you hungrier?!), and a new addition: NO-BAKE COOKIES!!

My boyfriend absolutely despises peanut butter (yes that is possible) so I had to think up a way to keep his sweet tooth (and mine!) at bay without turning my oven on due to the extreme heat and without incorporating peanut butter. Yea, I know, virtually impossible, right?? NOPE!

Vanilla No-Bake Cookies

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter

1/3 cup milk

1 package instant vanilla pudding mix

1 1/2 cups oats

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

handful of butterscotch chips and a handful of chocolate chips

Mix together the suga, butter, and milk in a large pot. Bring to a boil. Let it boil for about 2 mins, stirring the whole time.

Turn off the heat and add in the pudding, oats, and vanilla. Stir. Add in chips of choice. Let stand for about 5 minutes then drop teaspoon sizes onto wax paper. I used tin foil sprayed with cooking spray so it didn’t stick.

don't you love these bowls? got them as a housewarming gift šŸ™‚

a bite size of happiness

The cookies were super easy and didn’t require PB, although I think next time I’d make a batch with PB for myself!

Some dinners I’ll be posting over the next few days:

Fresh tortellini in a HOMEMADE sauce….oh yea.

can't giveaway the final picture!!

Wasabi-Panko Crusted Pork Chops…sounds harder than it was.

Some basic steak and potatoes, oh and the steaks were grass-fed, watch out Whole Foods.

letting it cook away

Chicken Bruschetta over whole wheat rotini, spicy italian sausage stew with brown rice, chicken thighs with baked beans, shrimp fajitas, and the list goes on.

I’ve really expanded what I cook lately, mostly because I needed to boost my protein and fat levels in my diet and because my boyfriend was dying for more meat. For a while, I thought that vegetarian was *healthier* so I tried to cook alot of veg. But we runners and exercisers need protein and meat and fish is some of the best ways to get that! I know some people don’t eat for very good and moral reasons, but I enjoy it so I’m going to eat it!

…And honestly it just fills me up more!

On that note, I took a trip to the local farmers market today and picked up eggplant, green peppers, purple peppers (who knew!?!), zucchini, and goat cheese to make grilled veggie sammies on my lovely Georgie! Off to cook away!

Do you eat meat?? If not, is it for the animals or for a different reason?

 

 

