I experienced my first earthquake today. It lasted about one minute while I was on the phone with a client who would not stop asking me questions throughout the whole ordeal. Thank God for the mute button or else she would have heard us shouting! Thankfully, no one was hurt and nothing was damaged. Immediately after the tremors, there was announcement “please do not panic, everything is ok, please go back to work.” Literally. Word for word. Welcome to my job.

I’m in a bit of rut today. I’ve got 3 loads of laundry on my plate tonight. A meal I’m not too excited about whatsoever but it’s easy so oh well!

chicken stir-fry!

and for once I actually took out all the ingredients to bake cookies and then just didn’t feel like doing it. WEIRD. I KNOW!

why didn’t I feel like this lovely goodness??

Thankfully I found a cool recipe on Keep\’n the Faith for a muffin in a minute so I’ll be making these tonight for a little warm dessert 🙂 Thanks, Kat!

So I thought I’d do a flashback to an awesome meal I made recently but didn’t get around to blogging about. Chicken Bruschetta with Whole Wheat Rotini

look at all those yummy veggies mixed in

Adapted from The Best Magazine in the World:

  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, divided
  • Package of chicken breast tenderloins
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 package presliced mushrooms
  • 1 small zucchini, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1 cup chopped plum tomato, about 3 tomatoes
  • 4 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated fresh Parmesan cheese, I don’t measure I just pour it on
  • Rotini pasta or whichever type of pasta you like. Penne would be good too.

Combine garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper in a small bowl; sprinkle chicken with garlic powder mixture. Heat frying pan on medium heat and coat with cooking spray,  add chicken and cook until done to desired temperature. Remove the chicken from pan, and keep warm.

Meanwhile, cook pasta according to directions while preparing the veggie mixture listed below.

Heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1/4 teaspoon salt, mushrooms, zucchini, and minced garlic; sauté 4 minutes or until veggies start to soften. Add 1/8 teaspoon black pepper, tomato, and vinegar; sauté 5 minutes. Serve the vegetable mixture over chicken and pasta. Sprinkle with cheese. Enjoy!

a big hunk of zucchini

Did you feel the earthquake?

Anyone ever get into a baking rut??  I think it’s just been so long that I’ve baked (due to high temps and a rather small oven-like apartment) and now I just don’t have the baking bug yet. Maybe once it cools off that bug will bite again…i am the boken baker after all!

 

 

