What’s the best part about getting up at 5:50 AM to workout? Coming home at 6:30 PM knowing that I don’t have to run or go to the gym, because I did it already!! I much prefer to work out in the morning than at night and when the nights get busy around the holidays, I’m glad I did it when the day is over. I had Christmas parties for work both Monday and Wednesday night this week so last night was the first chance we had to decorate the apartment.

Stockings are hung!

Little did we know the $0.97 ornaments from Wal-Mart wouldn’t have hooks on them soo we couldn’t decorate the tree. But it is decked out with both mini white lights and big yellow lights so it’s half decorated, good enough for me!

I whipped up a quick dinner – chicken stir-fry – but used a different recipe than normal. The sauce turned out to be a sweet soy sauce – we both really liked it!

check out the Christmas dish towels sent over from Ireland from my soon-to-be Mother-in-Law

Sweet Soy Sauce for Chicken/Shrimp/Pork/Tofu Stir-Fry

Heat 1 tsp peanut oil in a large skillet over medium heat

Combine and stir:

  • 1 TB dry ginger or 2 TB fresh ginger
  • 3 TB low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 TB ketchup
  • 2 TB white wine vinegar or rice vinegar
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Cook veggies in heated and oiled pan, stir fry until just crisp and tender. I used the big bag of frozen stir-fry veggies from Shop Rite (sugar snap stir-fry or broccoli stir-fry are our go-to favorites).

heat chicken in another skillet if you're not blessed with a large wok...it's on my registry for those of you who'd like to get that for us 🙂

Dice up the chicken into large chunks then add to the veggies. Pour sauce over the meat and veggie mixture and let simmer for about 5 minutes. Serve over brown rice and ENJOY!

scrumptious...made enough for lunch leftovers too!

Tonight we’re doing pulled pork sliders again since I just got back from the holiday party. Considering it is cold and rainy out right now, I am SOO glad I worked out this morning. Tomorrow I’ll post my awesome workout from this morning’s session.

Our new apartment is literally right next door to a brand new gym, Club Metro USA. I didn’t join right away because I was training for the Philly half marathon, but  now the weather is turning and the weights are calling my name.

So look forward to my Kettlebell workout post tomorrow!

Do you decorate with stockings? If so, do you fill them up too or is it just decoration?

What’s your favorite stir-fry recipe?

