Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Two eggs joint at the hip...they're in love

Today was a great combination of relaxing and productive, I basically spent the entire day cooking away. When there’s no rush to get dinner going and lunch made then I really enjoy just gradually reading recipes and picking out what to make.

It started off with a hearty breakfast of oats, banana, and peanut butter, classic but still amazing.

breakfast of champs on a colllld morning

Paired with a piping hot cup of this coffee:

I started off the morning by chopping some veggies and browning some lean ground turkey for a big batch of slow-cooker chili. This chili is so easy to prepare and the flavors are amazing so I figured hey why not make a batch for the week? Because honestly, it tasted better re-heated!

prepping for the week

After a quick trip to the gym and a (rather chilly) ice-session on my hip, I jumped back into my kitchen to whip up a batch of Ghiradelli chocolate chip cookies. I usually just buy Nestle or whichever brand is on sale – but last time I made these the cookies were to DIE for! It’s amazing how much of a difference it made.

the chocolate makes all the difference

yum. the end.

We’re having beef stew tonight – recipe courtesy of my Mom! The original recipe  from All Recipes calls for lamb meat but Shop Rite didn’t have that so I’m switching it beef cubes. It’s simmering away now so hopefully it’s good and I’ll post the recipe tomorrow.

Last night, we tried the Asian Grill in East Rutherford, NJ and it was exactly what we were looking for! The lad doesn’t like sushi so we like to find Asian restaurants that cater to my sushi cravings and his curry or spicy cravings and this place nailed it!

We started off with veggie and pork steamed dumplings

Followed by a Boston roll and edamame for me and general tso’s chicken for the lad.

Boston roll with crab, shrimp, and cucumber

The food was flavorful and had the right amount of kick to it and the sushi was amazingly fresh. We’ll definitely be ordering from here again.

What’s your favorite Asian restaurant?

Do you ever make dinners on Sunday to prep for the week?  Today was the first time I did it and I think I’ll really appreciate it at some point this week!

