Tags

, , , , ,

Hi All! Happy vacation for me! Happy vacation for anyone else out there?? I haven’t had a day off from work since the first weekend in September so the next few days will be a MUCH needed break.

I went to the orthopedist tonight to see if they could figure out what’s causing the major pain in my hip. It’s been getting worse to sit through work all day, drive with my right leg, walk up and down the stairs, etc. It’s frustrating to not be able to work out as much as I’d like and it’s extremely frustrating to not be able to run. So the doc said I have trochanteric bursitis, which is basically bursitis of the hip. The trochanter is the bony part of the hip and the bursa is what lies above it, which can become painful and swollen when irritated. Enter over training and increased mileage too quickly coupled with weak hips (which I found out today) and you get hip bursitis.

The doc gave me anti-inflammatories, some stretches to do, a prescription to ice daily, and nix any intense cardio exercise on my legs, specifically lunges and squats. So that kills my new-found love for the total body workouts (and running, AH!). At least for the time being. Easy biking/walking and arm workouts is what I’m stuck with for the next two weeks. If this doesn’t do it then the doc suggested a corticosteroid shot to ease the pain. Injuries are frustrating, but you know what, if 2 easy weeks means I can run and lift weights again (and pain-free) then I’m going to do my best to get through it!

Now to some eats:

turkey and cheese on sand thin w/an apple

nightly noshings

Pretzel crips, cheese and crackers, my vegas cup and shot glass with a yummy R&C in there!

shrimp & veggie stir fry

Throw it all over some brown rice and dinner is done in a jiffy!

quick, easy, and of course YUMMY!

And tonight we’re polishing off the last of our beef & winter vegetable stew, with some side salads of romaine, carrots, and feta and some multi-grain bread.

winter veggies!

Has anyone ever had hip bursitis or a hip injury? What type of exercise did you do?

Anyone else celebrating the start of vacation tonight? oh yea..this girl is!

