Tags

, , , ,

How’s everyone’s week going so far? I’ve already lost track of what day it is because of the holidays, but who’s complaining? This girl is NOT because all I know is it is not Monday night so I’m one happy camper.

Despite the lovely weather here in the ‘jerz, I ventured out to Morristown to meet my cousin and maid-of-honor for some lunch and coffee. We went to The Office Bar & Grill, pretty much known for great beers on tap and hearty burgers. We both decided to keep it light with salads. I’m still not into whipping out the camera when we’re mid-conversation, I think it takes away from the personal aspect of having a meal with someone. I had the Thai Sesame salad with greens with grilled chicken, mandarin oranges, mushrooms, and wontons. MOH had chopped tostada salad with chicken, avocado, colby jack and tortilla strips. Needless to say, MOH’s salad was MUCH tastier 🙂

salad looked something like this

On to the PIZZA PARTAYYY! My mom makes amazing homemade pizza. The end. I steal slices and slices of it from her freezer every time we visit, it is our go-to Friday night meal. Over the summer, I learned how to make the pizza dough and yesterday I finally tested it out on my own.

SUCCESS!

pepper and mushroom pizza!

Pizza Dough (adapted from Mama B, thanks!)

Ingredients:

  • Packet of active dry yeast
  • 2 TB vegetable oil + more for coating bowl dough will rise in
  •  3 cups of flour for dough + more for kneading and rolling
  • Shredded cheese of choice
  • Chopped veggies and/or meat of choice
  • Sauce for base (marinara, bbq, or go white)
  • Cooking spray

 Prep:

Warm up oven on lowest setting. I turned mine to 200° F.

Dissolve one packet of yeast in 1 cup warm water. Stir until dissolved

Add 1 1/2 cups flour and 2T of oil. Stir.

Add another 1 1/2 cups of flour – you’ll have to knead it in the end. Stir, will be crumbly.

Remove from bowl and knead until soft, only about 10 times.

Coat bowl with a little oil, place dough in bottom of bowl and turn the dough over so that it’s covered in the oil.

Turn off the oven before you put the dough in. Put dough in a warm oven with a cloth over the bowl until it rises – 20 – 25 minutes.

Chop veggies, shred cheese and cook/prep meat while dough is rising.

shredded mozzarella cheese

Take dough out and place on floured surface. Knead the dough a few times, flour rolling pin and start to roll the dough out. Spray pizza pan with cooking spray.

Roll dough out then fold over in half, place in pan, and unfold.

Pre-bake the crust for about 5 minutes for thicker crust.

Prepare pizza with desired toppings and bake on 425° F for about 15 – 20 minutes or until cheese starts to brown. Enjoy!

Have you ever made homemade pizza? This was my first time making the dough! And we loved every bite of it 🙂

What’s your favorite pizza combination? I love veggie or my Mom’s homemade meatball pizza, which is waiting for me in the fridge.

