Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy Day 2 of 2012! I hope everyone had a nice weekend and if you had off today then I hope you had a nice day off too! Back to the grind bright and early tomorrow! I had a great Christmas and New Years with family, friends, tons of great food and plenty of good drinks, it was a relaxing and fun 2 weeks of celebrations!

wine, chocolate, and candy - pretty much sums up my vacation! - all from Trader Joe's 🙂

We went out for dinner last night to a new Indian restaurant near my parent’s house: Bricklane Curry House. It was phenomenal! I never thought I’d like Indian food but the second the warm and doughy Naan was brought out, I knew I’d like this. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a huge fan of snapping pics while people are eating so I’ll leave it to your imagination! However, I did see that the restaurant posted some pics on their site so thought I’d share.

BYOB - major WIN!

We started with eggplant chips and we each got a different type of curry, I had Chicken Balti and the lad had Lamb Nilgiri Korma. The rents got Chicken and Lamb Jalfrezzi.

If anyone lives in North Jersey, I’d highly recommend Brick Lane for a delicious and different meal. All the curries came with chicken, lamb, tofu, veggie, paneer, shrimp, or fish so there were plenty of options. It’s always fun to switch it up between typical burger joints or Italian places so try out Indian next time!

Today we putzed around the apartment and hung up some pictures I got the lad for his birthday and Christmas then I hit up Shop Rite after I did some meal planning. Stuffed Mushroom and a Trader Joe’s pizza is on the menu for tonight.Then we caught an afternoon show of The Adventures of Tin Tin

The movie was really cute and fun to watch with all the little kids in the theater. The 3D glasses make everything pop out like crazy!

I thought I’d share with you a quick and easy recipe for tomorrow’s dinner. Salmon  is a great way to kick-start a healthy eating plan for the new year and when you pair it with asparagus and some sweet potato or side salad it becomes a balanced, yummy meal.

Easy Salmon (Serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 2 6-oz skinned salmon fillets
  • ¼ cup panko bread crumbs
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp mustard
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp low-fat mayo
  • Cooking spray

1. Preheat oven to 400º F. Cover baking pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.

2. Mix breadcrumbs, oil, mustard, lemon juice in small bowl. Spread mayo over fillets and press breadcrumb mixture onto the fish.

3. Bake fish about 15-20 minutes depending on how you prefer you’re fish cooked. Check on fish halfway through to ensure you are not overcooking.

*Cut recipe in half if your significant other has an aversion to fish, like mine!

asparagus on steroids

Easy Asparagus (Serves 2)

 Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of asparagus spears
  • 1 – 2 tsp of olive oil
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper
  • Cooking spray

Cover baking pan with foil and spray with cooking spray. Cut off ends of spears and line in a single layer on baking sheet. Toss with olive oil and spices, make sure to give the asparagus a good coating of oil and spices to ensure tastiness!

Bake in oven at same temp and same time as salmon, might need an extra 5 minutes or so.

Stuffed mushrooms, wine, and pizza are calling my name now!

Have you ever had Indian food? If so, what’s your favorite item to order?

Did you see any movies this weekend?

