Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy weekend!! We have a very relaxing, no-plan kind of weekend so I’m looking forward to whipping out the slow cooker and trying out some new winter recipes. My summer meal kick was short-lived, I’m cold and I want some good ol’ comfort food next week!

It was a bit chilly earlier this week and when I say “a bit” I mean a lot  because I consider 14 degrees bitter cold. So did I revert to some yummy beef stew or turkey chili? Nope! I made a salad straight from my summer recipes because that’s what I was in the mood for so that’s what I made!

Chili Lime Shrimp Salad (4 servings)

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 ½ lbs medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 TB lime juice, divided
  • 1 (15 oz) can corn
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • Lettuce – Romanie and Spring Mix
  • Shredded Cheese – romano, cheddar jack, etc.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.

Combine first 3 ingredients in a large bowl. Add shrimp; toss to coat.

Coat pan with cooking spray. Add shrimp; sauté 3 minutes or until done. Add 1 tablespoon lime juice. Remove shrimp from pan. Add corn to pan; sauté 1 minute. Stir in 1 tablespoon lime juice.

Serve shrimp over lettuce with sliced avocado, cheese, tomato, croutons. Enjoy!

get a good coating on the shrimp

warm up the corn in the already seasoned pan

shrimp with a great kick to it!

We still have a ridiculous amount of leftovers around the apartment so I decided to use them up for the rest of the week. The meals are still healthy and yummy but low budget so that’s always a win when you’re prepping for a good weekend of eats!

leftover spinach pasta with romano cheese

rigatoni with Trader Joes turk meatballs for the lad

I’m enjoy some yummy Chocolate Cappucino coffee now, courtesy of my awesome cousin/maid-of-honor/best friend, and about to whip up some breakfast. Love lazy saturday mornings!

Oh and time to do some meal planning for the week! Goal: $60

What’s your favorite salad combo for dinner?

Anyone have awesome weekend plans?

