Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been blogging for a few months now (with a small hiatus in between) and in almost all the healthy living blogs I follow/read there is a post about overnight oats. I am a traditional oatmeal person in that I boil the water and pour it over the oats OR if I’m at work I use the hot water and the instant oatmeal packets to make my oats. I know, instant oatmeal is like a MAJOR sin in the healthy living world because of all the added sugar, but come on, who’s going to disagree with me that these little packets taste amazing?? Overnight oats simply just looked like a hassle who makes breakfast the night before?? Odd. And then I saw Courtney’s post on her version of overnight oats and thought you know what, I might as well jump on the bandwagon.

THEY WERE AMAZING. I AM AN OVERNIGHT OATS CONVERT!

The night before I put 1/3 cup oats, 1 cup water, and a sprinkle of cinnamon in a small saucepan, brought it a boil, turned the heat off, stir, cover. Let sit overnight.

The next morning, I stirred the oats and added 1/3 cup 1% milk and half a banana (chopped in pieces). Then, I brought it to a boil and let it simmer for about 10 minutes to thicken it up. I topped it with homemade mixed nut butter, natural peanut butter, and TJ’s frozen berries. YUM! The banana flavor was subtle but went perfectly with the peanut butters. Now I’m wondering how to do this for work? Put it in a Tupperware container and heat in the microwave? Any suggestions??

The weekend has been relaxing and fun, the PERFECT combination! We had a very chill Friday night, which if you’ve been following along for a while you can take a guess at what it involved: chips, cheese, pizza, drinks, and Dexter! We’ve been getting really into this via Netflix, I’d highly suggest it!

I decided to splurge on some fresh sourdough bread anda lovely piece of Brie to kick off the weekend right. It was so creamy, totally worth the $7!

On a side note, I have my slow-cooker chili simmering away for the big game tonight! I decided to turkey chili today in case anyone has an aversion to beef. I’ve had a few taste tests and it’s yummy. Our apartment smells amazing right about now! I hope everyone enjoys the game, GO GIANTS!!

What are you making for the Super Bowl?

GO Giants or  go Pats?

