Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Sunday all! I hope everyone had a good weekend! I was up in Providence with all my roommates from college for a little reunion, it was great to see all my best girls and catch up with some friends. Like I always say, I’m not one to snap pictures in the middle of busy pubs and crowded restaurants, but this weekend was FULL of good eats.

We started off the weekend at Gigino Trattoria in downtown NYC with my family. The place was packed and we had to wait 20 minutes (for our reserved table) but it was worth it in the end. Complimentary pizza bread, eggplant rollatini, fried calamari, and fresh mozzarella filled our table in less than ten minutes. The food was to die for! I ordered the veal osso buco for my meal and the rest of the table ordered an assortment of fresh pastas. The meat in my dish was succulent and fell off the bone exactly like it should.

Of course, Providence was also full of good eats but coupled with much more beers and casual food. Grilled cheese from RiRa’s, thin crust pizza from Cafe 412, bagels from Bagel Gourmet…all classic staples for a Providence College girl!

Irish sausages and rashers on sourdough, had to balance the lad’s meat sandwich out with some berries!

Now to some recipes I snuck in to my busy, slightly chaotic, week. This week is going to be a mix of leftovers and new recipes so I was glad to try out some new ones last week.

Spaghetti with Mushroom Sauce

  • whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1 package mushrooms (I used baby bella), sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • 1 16-oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 1 T flour
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper

Heat 1 tsp oil on medium high heat. Cook mushrooms and peppers on medium heat until tender, about 5 or 10 minutes. Add garlic, dry white or red wine, flour, oregano, basil, ¼ tsp salt, ½ tsp pepper, and 1 can of diced tomatoes. Stir until thickens. Bring to a boil then simmer for about 20 minutes.  Cook pasta and top with sauce, sprinkle with cheese, enjoy!

Top with Romano or Parmesan cheese and enjoy with the rest of that red wine! This meal only too about 20 minutes to put together and it was hearty and healthy, my two favorite things for a weeknight dinner.

I’m off to make dinner, pork tenderloin with red & yellow bell peppers and mashed potatoes, sounds fancy right?? I’ve made it before and it’s actually really easy, post to come later this week.

And to leave you with something sweet, my friend made these amazing dessert pops for Super Bowl Sunday. Chocolate covered cookie dough pops sitting in a jar of M&Ms and Peanut Butter M&Ms, very impressive and fun!

Nice job, Jess!

What did you do this weekend?

Do vegetarian pasta dishes fill you up enough for dinner?

