Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Long time no post for this busy girl over here! Life has been real busy, per usual, with work, wedding planning, and just good ol’ life stuff. No matter how busy I am during the day, I still love coming home and getting my hands dirty in the kitchen. While I have no control over the craziness of my day, I do have control of my kitchen and that’s kind of why I like to make a homemade dinner most nights of the week. Yes, I consider heating up a bowl of chili a homemade dinner because I did make it at one point, it just happens to qualify as leftovers on a busy night!

I did try out a new recipe this past week when I just could not figure out what to make for dinner. I normally plan our meals Sunday through Thursday, leaving take-out or going out as an option for Friday and Saturday. But this week I totally forgot about Thursday so I threw this little idea around and then just went with it!

Healthy Chicken Fried Rice

Ingredients:
– 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
– 4 large egg whites or 2 eggs
– half an onion, chopped
– 2 medium garlic cloves, minced
– 1/2 tsp ginger
– bunch of asparagus, cut into 3-4 inch spears
– 1 cup cooked brown rice, regular or instant, kept hot
– 1/2 cup frozen green peas, thawed
– 3 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce

Directions:
Coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and set pan over medium-high heat. Add eggs and cook, until scrambled, stirring frequently, about 3 to 5 minutes; remove from pan and set aside. Keep warm
Offheat, recoat skillet with cooking spray and place back over medium-high heat. Add onions and garlic; sauté 2 minutes. Add chicken, asparagus, and any other veggies, add ginger; saute until chicken is golden brown and cooked through, about 7 minutes.
Stir in reserved cooked eggs, cooked brown rice, and soy sauce; cook until heated through, stirring once or twice, about 1 minute. Makes 2 servings.

I only had one chicken breast so added lots more frozen veggies to the mix

This was a great spin on the classic fried rice take-out and fairly easy to throw together. Next time I’d definitely do more chicken because it wasn’t exactly the most filling dinner, but that’s what awesome Valentine’s presents are for

Peanut butter ice cream!!! …and roses 🙂

I’m off to put together some more recipes that I have failed to post, have a great Saturday everyone!

Do you like fried rice? Ever make it yourself?

